Books

The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel

The Fiery Pantheon A Novel Acclaimed for her gleeful and contagious love of language Los Angeles Times Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer Now she introduces th

  • Title: The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel
  • Author: Nancy Lemann
  • ISBN: 9780684852058
  • Page: 209
  • Format: Paperback
  • Acclaimed for her gleeful and contagious love of language Los Angeles Times , Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer Now she introduces the aristocratic Stewart clan of New Orleans, in particular, the self effacing Grace, who is vacationing with her family at a rambling old resort in Virginia and mulling oveAcclaimed for her gleeful and contagious love of language Los Angeles Times , Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer Now she introduces the aristocratic Stewart clan of New Orleans, in particular, the self effacing Grace, who is vacationing with her family at a rambling old resort in Virginia and mulling over her recent engagement to Monroe Collier, her ideal Southern gentleman When she spots the crazed but brilliant Walter, she pegs him as a likely candidate for a nervous breakdown, but he determinedly attaches himself to Grace and begins to work his charms on her Will Grace remain true to laconic Monroe and the ideals of her homeland or will she fall for the strangely charismatic Walter Who will gain entry into the Fiery Pantheon, Grace s personal gallery of beloved and honored heroes In the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Walker Percy, The Fiery Pantheon is a witty and rapturous novel about the weight of past glory, the attachment to place, and the love of a man.

    • Best Read [Nancy Lemann] Ä The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel || [Self Help Book] PDF ☆
      209 Nancy Lemann
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Nancy Lemann] Ä The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel || [Self Help Book] PDF ☆
      Posted by:Nancy Lemann
      Published :2020-04-18T02:57:54+00:00

    About "Nancy Lemann"

    1. Nancy Lemann

      Nancy Lemann Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel book, this is one of the most wanted Nancy Lemann author readers around the world.

    618 Comments

    1. I seem to be in the minority here because I love The Fiery Pantheon. But I also loved Nancy Lemann's writing going into this, so Yes, there is a lot of repetition, and Lemann has favorite words that appear again and again: vast, madly, besotted, dementedly. (See this review from the NYT). But there are also hysterically funny passages: Grace's various accidental conquests unraveling before your eyes, Walter attempting to change into a tuxedo in an airplane lavatory à la James Bond.I almost thin [...]


    2. While I wanted to finish this book, interesteing story and characters, I couldn't wrap myself around the way it was written. A bit "Momemtum" like - it kept going back and saying the same things over and over again. Probably half as long and twice as good if the author did not deploy that writing style.


    3. Annoying, stilted, repetitive. Southern fiction at close to its worst with "crazed young people" and a psychoanalyzing mother and a heroine who idealizes (in her mental fiery pantheon) seersucker suited men of the south. Yuk.


    4. 2.5 starsI really really wanted to love this book, since it came highly recommended by a close friend, but in the end, I was just annoyed by the writing style and lack of storyline. :(


    Leave a Comment